Wayne Pivac makes seven changes for Wales' series decider against Argentina

Wales and Argentina players after first match in summer series Wales and Argentina drew the first Test in the summer series (Ashley Western/PA)

Wales coach Wayne Pivac has made seven changes for Saturday’s series decider against Argentina at the Principality Stadium.

Cardiff half-backs Tomos Williams and Jarrod Evans will both start after impressing off the bench in last week’s 20-20 first Test draw.

Tom Rogers comes in on the wing, while Nick Tompkins will partner captain Jonathan Davies, who has overcome a knock to feature, in the centres.

Up front, prop Gareth Thomas will make his first start and Leon Brown also comes into the front row.

Josh Turnbull gets an opportunity with Aaron Wainwright out injured while Ross Moriarty will switch to number eight.

Matthew Screech will get the chance to win his first cap off the bench while fellow replacements Sam Parry and Rhodri Jones will be involved for the first time this summer. Centre Willis Halaholo, who had been an injury doubt, will also be among the substitutes.

Pivac, who has been without a host of senior players this summer due to British and Irish Lions call-ups, hopes his side can end their season on a high after being held last time out.

Pivac said: “We were all frustrated after drawing last weekend and felt we left a number of opportunities out on the pitch.

“Argentina brought what we expected, they were big, physical and direct and exerted pressure with their kicking game.

“For some of this group, it was the first time they have faced that level of physicality and intensity and this week we will need to be much more accurate and disciplined.

“We have freshened the squad up a bit, giving others an opportunity to impress and they are eager to make a big impression.

“It is another exciting opportunity to face a quality outfit and we can still win the series, which would be a great way to finish our season.”

Wales team to face Argentina

Forwards: 1 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys), 2 Elliot Dee (Dragons), 3 Leon Brown (Dragons), 4 Ben Carter (Dragons), 5 Will Rowlands (Dragons), 6 Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Rugby), 7 James Botham (Cardiff Rugby), 8 Ross Moriarty (Dragons)

Backs: 9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby), 10 Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Rugby), 11 Tom Rogers (Scarlets), 12 Jonathan Davies (Captain, Scarlets), 13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens), 14 Owen Lane (Cardiff Rugby), 15 Hallam Amos (Cardiff Rugby)

Replacements: 16 Sam Parry (Ospreys), 17 Rhodri Jones (Ospreys), 18 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby), 19 Matthew Screech (Cardiff Rugby)*, 20 Taine Basham (Dragons), 21 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), 22 Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears), 23 Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby)

* Denotes uncapped player

More Wales Autumn Internationals Rugby News >