Mike Blair names 17 uncapped players in Scotland squad for summer fixtures

Mike Blair during captain's run at Murrayfield Mike Blair will lead Scotland this summer (Ian Rutherford/PA)

Scotland have named 17 uncapped players in a 37-strong squad for their upcoming summer fixtures.

Edinburgh’s Jamie Ritchie will captain the group for games against England A, Romania and Georgia.

With eight players unavailable following their selection for the British and Irish Lions’ tour to South Africa, and Gregor Townsend helping out Warren Gatland on the coaching staff, interim head coach Mike Blair’s squad combines youth and experience.

He said: “We have selected a mix of genuine Test match experience and a number of players who have impressed in the recent past to warrant a place in a squad that will want to continue the positive progress we have built up on and off the pitch in recent months.

“England A, Romania and Georgia will each pose different and tough challenges and we will have to be operating at our best to enjoy success, continuing on from some promising performances during the 2021 Guinness Six Nations.

“With the next Rugby World Cup two years away this period gives us an opportunity to increase our depth in key positions and work with players who can put up their hands for international selection this summer, and beyond.”

The full group will convene on June 15 to prepare for the England A fixture on June 27, with a smaller squad then travelling to Romania and Georgia for the two Test matches on July 10 and 17 respectively.

Of the uncapped contingent, Luke Crosbie, Charlie Shiel, Rory Darge, Jamie Dobie, Rufus McLean, Ross Thompson, Josh Bayliss and Ewan Ashman have previously spent time in the Scotland set-up.

For others, namely Sione Tuipulotu, Kiran McDonald, Cole Forbes, Jack Blain, Nick Auterac, Javan Sebastian, Robin Hislop, Cameron Henderson and Jamie Hodgson call-ups will represent their first taste of a senior international camp.

The squad retains experienced players, with no fewer than 20 previously representing Scotland.

Six players – Blair Kinghorn, Matt Scott, Adam Hastings, Scott Cummings, Simon Berghan and Ritchie – have earned at least 20 caps.

Scotland squad for summer internationals

Forwards: Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks)*, Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints)*, Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby)*, Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Bhatti (Bath Rugby), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), David Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby), Alex Craig (Gloucester Rugby), Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors)*, Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers)*, Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights)*, Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors), Kiran McDonald (Glasgow Warriors)*, Jamie Ritchie (CAPTAIN, Edinburgh Rugby), Javan Sebastian (Scarlets)*, Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs), Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)

Backs: Jack Blain (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors)*, Cole Forbes (Glasgow Warriors)*, Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), James Lang (Harlequins), Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors)*, Matt Scott (Leicester Tigers), Charlie Shiel (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Scott Steele (London Irish), Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors)*, Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors)*

* Denotes uncapped player

More Scotland Autumn Internationals Rugby News >